L'éléphant

Un emblème riche de significations

.............................................................................................................................


Logo-Elephant.jpg

Inspired by an original sculpture at Cos d'Estournel, the elephant quite naturally became the symbol of the Michel Reybier Group. This is an acknowledgement of the name "La Réserve" given to the Group’s establishments, and is also an animal filled with meaning no matter what the civilization. Here are a few example.

 

In both western and eastern symbolism, the elephant is consistently associated with memory and intelligence, strength and wisdom, longevity, faithfulness and determination, as well as benevolence and prosperity.

 

In Antiquity, the elephant was dedicated to the sun and regarded as having the longest of all lifespans. It outlives time and therefore represents eternity.

 

Throughout history, the elephant appears as an impressive war machine, from the time of Darius and Alexander the Great through to Tamerlan, the founder of Samarkand, as well as mention Hannibal.

 

In African folklore, the elephant assumes the role of the father, the ruler of the animals. Animal names are sometimes given to certain men by witchdoctors. “Panther men” kill like beasts, “owl men” see at night, “monkey men” climb the trees. “Elephant men” find water.

 

In India, the elephant represents strength, power, storms (the round, grey shape of rain clouds). It represents the pillar of the world. In Hinduism, the god-elephant Ganesha symbolizes intelligence, wisdom and intellectual success, and is the lord of obstacles. The word elephant (gaja) itself means “the beginning and the end”, the ultimate stage of development achieved by the yogi in his spiritual quest.

 

 “The elephant is the animal that surpasses all others in wit and mind.” Aristotle.

L'éléphant

Un emblème riche de significations

.............................................................................................................................


Logo-Elephant.jpgInspiré d'une sculpture originale de Cos d'Estournel, l'éléphant est devenu naturellement l'emblème du Groupe Michel Reybier. Clin d'oeil au nom "La Réserve" des établissements du Groupe, c'est aussi un animal riche en significations et ce quelles que soient les civilisations. En voici quelques extraits...

 

Dans la symbolique occidentale comme orientale, l'éléphant est tout à la fois associé à la mémoire et à l'intelligence, la force et la sagesse, la longévité, la constance et la détermination, la bienveillance et la prospérité.

 

Dans l'Antiquité, l'éléphant était consacré au soleil et regardé comme celui qui vivait le plus longtemps. Il dépasse le temps et désigne ainsi l'éternité.

 

Au cours de l'histoire, l'éléphant apparaît comme une impressionnante machine de guerre, depuis Darius et Alexandre Le Grand jusqu'à Tamerlan, fondateur de Samarcande, sans oublier Hannibal.

 

Dans le folklore africain, l'éléphant tient le rôle du père, du chef des animaux. Des noms d'animaux sont parfois donnés à certains hommes par les sorciers. Les "hommes panthères" tuent comme les fauves, les "hommes hiboux" voient la nuit, les "hommes singes" grimpent aux arbres. Les "hommes éléphants", eux, trouvent l'eau.

 

En Inde, l'éléphant évoque la force, la puissance, l'orage (forme ronde et grise des nuages de pluie). Il représente le pilier de monde. Pour les hindous, le Dieu-éléphant Ganesha symbolise l'intelligence, la sagesse et la réussite intellectuelle, c'est le seigneur des obstacles. Le mot éléphant (gaja) lui-même a comme sens "l'origine et la fin", le stade d'évolution ultime atteint par le yogi dans sa quête spirituelle.

 

"L'éléphant est la bête qui dépasse toutes les autres par l'intelligence et l'esprit." Aristote